My toothbrush never lets me down.

Smokers have bad teeth. College students have bad teeth. I have to be honest with you, I often only brush once a day. Gross huh? I don’t know why. It’s one of my most embarrassing habits, and now that I’m a non-smoker, one of my grossest. I’m trying to get better about this. Not get the pre-bedtime lazies. I used to brush twice a day (I know you should really brush three times) and floss pretty much daily. I’m back to flossing and getting better with the  brushing. I’m basically a dentists worst nightmare. To be fair, most of my friends only brush once. No joke. Sorry to call him out on this one- but even my boyfriend Johnny only brushes once a day. So it’s not only me.

It’s a habit I formed in the dorms, when I’d be too lazy to walk down the hall- and by down the hall I mean pretty far down a long hall- to brush my teeth at night. It also didn’t help that freshmen year of college I hit my alcoholic peak of drinking mostly every night. Freshmen year I also gained the freshmen ten. All around, freshmen year was when it all went wrong for me. But, it’s now technically my senior year (I graduated a semester early) – no more excuses.

I’m doing a favor for my poor teeth and doing crest white strips daily. After seven years of smoking and making my teeth yucky it’s the least I can do for them. Quitting smoking is great because it gives you a reason to thoroughly clean out everything- teeth included. I hope that my teeth go less from looking like this:

yellow teeth

An exaggeration. not my real teeth. but you get the picture

And more to looking like this:

white teeth

I have a gap between my two front teeth 😦 they will never be this perf.

In honor of good dental hygiene here is an absolute favorite of mine from Yo Gabba Gabba.

4 thoughts on “My toothbrush never lets me down.

  1. After smoking for ten years, I can start seeing signs. I can’t wait until I quit. Those white strips make my teeth feel funny and I only did it once…that happen to you?

  2. Hey everyone! I just want to make it clear that Marissa’s Mom didn’t teach her to only brush once a day! I’ve always been a nut for OVERLY brushing to the point where my dentist told me I was brushing TOO much! As far as that gap in the front, let’s go see what we can do about that next time you’re in Pueblo, what do you say? Of course, look at Madonna who has the same gap, it hasn’t hurt her success at all, so the decision is yours, but Michael and I are happy to take care of it for you if you wish. L, M

  3. Russell, they do make my teeth feel weird and I have a huge struggle not getting them to fall off my bottom teeth while they’re on but it’s alright. It feels good afterward and my teeth are in desperate need of whitening. I was worried about them because I have a ton of fillings, but so far so good.

    Mommy, the gap is okay with me by now. I think it adds character! I am still mad at having braces for all of those years and still having a gap 😦 but by now it’s part of who I am. I do need to go to the dentist to get my wisdom teeth taken out, they are killing me lately!

    rochelle, I still do love the panda! It’s the highlight of brushing my teeth!

Leave a Reply

