Wise gift card choice and a delicious first meal

For Christmas, my dad gave me a Williams-Sonoma gift card. He know how much I love that place, and he loves it too. We sort of exchange gifts from there all the time.

Well I had been racking my brain trying to figure out what to use it on, and even looked over at Pottery Barn. Truth is, I’m pretty much set. I have all the kitchen appliances and tools that I need, and I don’t need more in the way of decor. So instead of forcing myself to get something like that I opted for….FOOD.

Sure, it feels like my dad bought me groceries, but Williams-Sonoma food isn’t your typical Walmart canned goods and dry mixes, so it still feels special. Plus, my recipe repitoire is a bit on the stale side. I’ve been recycling dishes for awhile now, and what better way to try something new.

So here’s what I got….

January 18 2010

It's definitely not the economical choice to buy this stuff on my own. Each item averaged about $12.

I wanted to try it immediately, and so Marissa came over for dinner. We decided to use Maya Kaimal’s Tikka Masala Indian Simmering sauce (the small jar). She’s vegetarian, so it seemed like a good option. We split the simmering sauce between her tofu, my chicken, and some potatoes. We also picked up some Jasmine rice at Walmart (Uncle Ben’s 90-second microwave stuff), and some fresh baked naan from the Walmart bakery (good find!).

It turned out so delicious! The flavor was amazing.

January 18 2010

Please excuse the messy plating. I was starving!

And there was enough for the two of us last night, and enough for her to take home her tofu leftovers, and for me to bring the chicken leftovers to split between two people for lunch!

Easy as can be and simply delicious.

More about Maya Kaimal:

Leave a Reply

